Ella Fitzgerald – Lady Time (1978)

FrontCover1Ella Fitzgerald is, probably, the most popular female jazz vocalist of the last 100 years.

She has been rightly described as the ‘First Lady of Song’, in a career, which spanned over 6 decades.

Ella sold over 40 million albums in her career, which is a huge achievement, when it should be remembered that, at one stage in her life, she was penniless and lived on the streets.

InTheStudioThis CD places Ella Fitzgerald (then 60) in an unusual setting. Joined only by organist Jackie Davis and drummer Louie Bellson, she tackles a wide variety of material that ranges from “I’m Walkin'” and “I Cried for You” to “Mack the Knife” (which did not need to be remade) and “And the Angels Sing.” Not one of her more essential releases, Lady Time does show that even at this fairly late stage in her career, Ella Fitzgerald could outswing just about anyone.(by Scott Yanow)

EllaFitzgerald1978Ella Fitzgerald, 1978

Louie Bellson (drums)
Jackie Davies (organ)
Ella Fitzgerald (vocals)

01. I’m Walkin’ (Domino/Bartholomew) 5.30
02. All Or Nothing At All (Altman/Lawrence) 6.29
03. I Never Had A Chance (Berlin) 4.03
04. I Cried For You (Now It’s Your Turn To Cry Over Me) (Lyman/Freed/Arnheim) 3.17
05. What Will I Tell My Heart (Lawrence/Tinturin) 1.57
06. Since I Fell For You (Johnson) 4.26
07. And The Angels Sing (Mercer/Elman) 3.07
08. Confessin’ That I Love You (Neiburg/Dougherty/Reynolds) 2.50
09. Mack The Knife (Brecht/Weill/Blitzstin) 2.57
10. That’s My Desire (Loveday/Kresa) 3.02
11. I’m In The Mood For Love (Mc Hugh/Fields) 4.36


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.