Teegarden & VanWinkle – With Bruce (On Our Way) (1972)

FrontCover1Teegarden & Van Winkle were an American musical duo, composed of Skip Knape (electric organ, organ pedal bass, vocals), and David Teegarden (drums, vocals). Formed in Tulsa, they took their folksy rock to Detroit.

Their single “God, Love and Rock & Roll”, which borrowed heavily from “Amen”, peaked at #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1970. At times they worked with Bob Seger, appearing live at gigs and even producing an album together with Seger and guitarist Michael Bruce (Smokin’ O.P.’s, 1972). Smokin’ O.P.’s was re-released in 2005.

Teegarden later appeared as the drummer in Bob Seger’s Silver Bullet Band, recording four further albums with Seger.
ConcertPosterIn 1972-3, while David toured with Bob Seger, Skip put his own full band together consisting of horns & female vocals. Skip continued to kick bass pedals with his new larger band. Sheila Chambers a/k/a Shea Chambers, Shaun Murphy a/k/a Stoney Reese were vocalists singing together and separately, in Skip’s band, as well as a pre-RCA Victor recording artist Dan Schafer on guitar and vocals with Jim Langois on drums, Dave Heater on sax & Jack Muncie on trumpet.

In the early 90s, former Doors guitarist Robbie Krieger formed a trio called the ‘Robby Krieger Organization’ featuring Skip on electric organ,organ pedal bass and Dale Alexander on drums & backing vocals.

The Teegarden & Van Winkle duo reunited for another album, Radioactive, in 1997.

And here´s their 4th album from 1972:

Possibly the best package yet from this top duo, who have engaged the aid of Mike Bruce. They flow from rock to blues to folk with ease, and remain two of the best harmony singers around today. Highlights inlude “Reuben Red” with its interesting bagpipes, “If You Live” (by Mose Allison) and “Carry On (With You)”. (Billboard, October 14, 1972)

Two more great cover versions: “Midnight Rider” (ny Greg Allman) and “Goin´ Down” (by Don Nix) and a fine gospel tune called “Stoned On The Love Of Jesus”

Another forgotten jewel in the history of Rok music … Believe me !

Very rare single form the Netherlands:


Skip “Van Winkle” Knapé* (keyboards, vocals)
David Teegarden (drums, vocals)
Mike “Monk” Bruce (guitar, slide-guitar vocals on 01. – 06.)
Ernie Fields Jr. (saxophone on 04., 05. 06. + 11.) (tracks: A4, A5, B2, B6)
Bob Seger (guitar, background vocals, cowbell on 02., 04. ,05. + 06.)
Jerry Smith (piano on 07. + 08. )
background vocals:
Brenda Knight – Jo Ann Hill – Marlene Driscoll


01. Carry On (With You) (Shider/Knapé)
02. Midnight Rider (Allman)
03. Movin’ On Down The Highway (Knapé)
04. Going Down (Nix)
05. Ride Away (With Me) (Knapé)
06. Ain’t Love Grand (Seger/Shider/Knapé)
07. Stoned On The Love Of Jesus (Teegarden/Knapé)
08. Rueben Red (Knapé)
09. Arted Is My Last Name (Passing Gas) (Knapé)
10. If You Live (Allison)
11. I Need You (Knapé)



BillboardReviewThe Billboard review from October 1972