Bob Moses – When Elephants Dream Of Music (1983)

FrontCover1A fine drummer, Bob Moses has received his strongest recognition as a colorful and adventurous arranger/composer for large ensembles. He played as a teenager with Rahsaan Roland Kirk (1964-1965), formed the early fusion group Free Spirits with Larry Coryell (1966), and toured with Gary Burton’s quartet (1967-1969). Moses collaborated with Dave Liebman in the trio Open Sky, recorded with Gary Burton in the mid-’70s, and worked with Jack DeJohnette’s Compost, Pat Metheny (recording Bright Size Life), Mike Gibbs, Hal Galper, Gil Goldstein, Steve Swallow, the Steve Kuhn/Sheila Jordan group (1979-1982), George Gruntz’s Concert Jazz Band, and Emily Remler (1983-1984). He recorded as a composer for his own Mozown label in 1975, but Moses’ reputation as a writer rests primarily with his Gramavision releases, especially When Elephants Dream of Music (1982), Visit With the Great Spirit (1983), and 1994’s Time Stood Still. Nishoma was issued in fall 2000.

Bob Moses01

Although best known as a flexible and tasteful drummer, Bob Moses displayed a great deal of talent as a composer and arranger on this exciting project. He utilized a particularly colorful cast of characters, including altoist David Gross, Jim Pepper on tenor, cornetist Terumasa Hino, trombonist Barry Rogers, flutist Jeremy Steig, vibraphonist David Friedman, guitarist Bill Frisell, keyboardist Lyle Mays, electric bassist Steve Swallow, Howard Johnson on electric contrabass clarinet and tuba, and the voices of Sheila Jordan and Jeanne Lee, among many others. Some of the music is quite lyrical and laid-back, and there are tributes to Miles Davis and Billy Strayhorn, but it is the rambunctious and hilarious “Everybody Knows You When You’re Up and In” (his answer to “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out”) that is most memorable. Highly recommended.(by Scott Yanow)


Joe Bonadio (percussion, vocals)
Aiyb Dieng (percussion)
Michael Formanek (bass)
David Friedman (vibraphone, marimba)
Bill Frisell (guitar)
David Gross (saxophone)
Doc Halliday (saxophone)
Terumasa Hino (corent)
Howard Johnson (bass, clarinet, tuba)
Lyle Mays (synthesizer)
Bob Moses (drums, percussion)
Jim Pepper (saxophone)
Barry Rogers (trombone)
Chris Rogers (trumpet)
Steve Swallow (bass)
Naná Vasconcelos (percussion, vocals)

Marion Cowings (vocals on 04. + 13.)
Sheila Jordan (vocals on 05.)
Jeanne Lee (vocals on 13)
Jahnet Levatin (vocals on 13.)
Paula Potocki (vocals on 13.)
Bob Weiner (drums on 06.)
Bemshi Shearer (vocals on 04. + 13.)
Paul Socolow (bass on 06)
Jeremy Steig (flute on 13.)
Toni Wilson (vocals on 13.)

Alternate frontcover:

01.Trevor 5.01
02. Picolo And Lulu 2.53
03. Everybody Knows When You’re Up And In 4.30
04. Lava Flow 9.22
05. Happy To Be Here Today 2.46
06. For Miles 7.14
07. Embraceable Jew 4,57
08. Bugs Bunny 8.33
09. Black Orchid 6.00
10. Disappearing Blues 2.13
11. Ripped Van Winkle 7.26
12. Blame It On The Egg 1.22
13. The River 4.33

Music composed by Bob Moses



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.