Creedence Clearwater Revival – Live At The Fillmore West (1971)

CDFrontCover1At a time when rock music was evolving away from the forces that had made it possible in the first place, Creedence Clearwater Revival brought rock back to its roots with a concise synthesis of rockabilly, swamp pop, R&B, and country. Although the band’s tight, punchy arrangements were a group effort, their vision belonged to singer, songwriter, guitarist, and leader John Fogerty. Fogerty’s classic compositions for Creedence evoked enduring images of Americana, and they simultaneously reflected burning social issues of the day. The band’s genius was their ability to accomplish this with the economic, primal power of a classic rockabilly ensemble.

The key elements of Creedence had been woodshedding in bar bands for about a decade before their breakthrough to national success in the late ’60s. John’s older brother Tom formed the Blue Velvets in the late ’50s in El Cerrito, California, a tiny suburb across the bay from San Francisco.


By the mid-’60s, with a few hopelessly obscure recordings under their belt, the band — including Tom and John with two high-school friends, drummer Doug Clifford and bassist Stu Cook — signed to Fantasy, releasing several singles as the Golliwogs that went nowhere. In fact, there’s little promise to be found on those early efforts; they were extremely derivative of the British Invasion and other R&B and rock trends of the day, with few hints of the swampy roots rock that would characterize CCR. The group only found themselves when John took firm reins over the band’s direction, singing and writing virtually all of their material. (by Richie Unterberger)

John Fogerty01

And here´s their concert at the closing nights of the Fillmore West …

This is a real smokin’ performance by the three-piece Creedence


Doug Clifford (drums)
Stu Cook (bass, background vocals)
John Fogerty (guitar, vocals, harmonica)


01. Stage & tuning 1.47
02. Born On the Bayou 5.23
03. Green River 3.55
04. It Came From Out Of The Sky 3.32
05. Don’t Look Now-Door to Door 3.27
06. Travelin’ Band 3.30
07. Fortunate Son / Commotion 6.34
08. Lodi 4.02
09. Bad Moon Risin’ 2.11
10. KSAN-FM aircheck 0.06
11. Proud Mary 4.09
12. Up Around the Bend 3.33
13. Hey Tonight 3.05
14. Sweet Hitchhiker 3.20
15. John Fogerty announcement-3 year anniversary of CCR closing the old Fillmore 0.35
16. Keep On Chooglin’ 9.53
17. Bill Graham outro 0.48

All songs written by John Fogerty

Alternate frontcover:


More from Creedence Clearwater Revival:

2 thoughts on “Creedence Clearwater Revival – Live At The Fillmore West (1971)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.