Miller Anderson – Bright City (1971)

FrontCover1Miller Anderson (born 12 April 1945, Houston, Renfrewshire, Scotland) is a UK-based blues guitarist and singer. In the formative years of the 1960s, before either of them achieved significant success, he worked extensively with Ian Hunter in bands such as The Scenery and At Last The 1958 Rock ‘n’ Roll Show (later called Charlie Woolfe) and is referenced in the title track of Hunter’s 1976 album All American Alien Boy (“well I remember all the good times me and Miller enjoyed, up and down the M1 in some luminous yo-yo toy”). Anderson would later guest on two Hunter solo albums.

Apart from pursuing his own solo career, he was a member of the Keef Hartley Band. Other groups Anderson has been associated with are; the Spencer Davis Group, Broken Glass, The Dukes, Mountain, Savoy Brown, T.Rex and Chicken Shack. In early 2006, he joined The British Blues Quintet with Maggie Bell, Zoot Money, Colin Hodgkinson and Colin Allen.

Miller Anderson01In the Spring of 2016 Miller returned to the studio and in July 2016 released a new album, Through The Mill.. (by wikpedia)

Miller Anderson, the Scots born singer, guitarist, and songwriter, came to fame with the Keef Hartley band, which established him as a well respected frontman. He joined the band in 1968 and stayed with Hartley for some three years, during which time the\d hard, became However it seemed that Miller and Keel didn’t always get on too well and Miller left the band in 1971.

“Bright City” was Andersons first solo album for which he additionally wrote all the material. It was first released on Deram Records in 1971. The songs, including, Alice Mercy from(Whom It Max Concern)”. “The Age of Progress”, “Nothing In This World”, and “Bright City”, remind us what a line singer has been missing from mainstream rock these past few years.

Among those helping him out were Neil Hubbard (guitar), the late Gary Thain (bass), who later joined Uriah Heep, Mick Weaver, (sometimes known as Wynder K. Frogg) and Peter Dines, on keyboards. Session man Lynn Dobson from the Manfred Mann band played flute, while Eric Dillon was on drums. Producer Neil Slaven sat in on percussion. Adding backing vocals were Madeline Bell, Tracey Miller and Liza Strike. Thain, Dines, and Weaver all played on Keel Hartley’s albums, so Miller was using mostly familiar faces to present his own music to the world. But getting a “name” in the music biz is harder than it looks, and back in the early seventies at least, Keel Hartley still had the pulling power that Miller Anderson lacked on his own.

Miller Anderson02For a while Miller had his own band called Hemlock with James Leveron (bass) and Eric Dillon (drums). It was a struggle to establish themselves and they joined forces with Ken Simmonds and Stan Webb (ex-Chicken Shack), to form a new version of the Savoy Brown Blues Band which went on a brief tour of America in the Spring of 1974. In the same year, Anderson rejoined Keef Hartley and the\d a new band called Dog Soldier.

The group released only one album of the same name for United Artists, Anderson then teamed up with Man Nolan, in 1976, in what proved to be the last version of T.Rex, working alongside Dino Dines (keyboards), Herbie Flowers (bass), and Tony Newman (drums). T.Rex hit the road with the punk group The Damned on the “Dandy In the Underworld Tour” in 1977. Bolan was sadly killed in a car accident in 1977, and the- band broke up.

Miller carried on working and earned the respect, if not the fame and fortune, of his contemporaries, Today he continues to write and perform and reminds us of a regarding aspect of the thriving Seventies music scene that now seems like a bye gone age.

Look at the line-up .. a real good debut of a crimnally underrated musician !


Miller Anderson (guitar, vocals)
Harold Beckett (flugelhorn)
Eric Dillon (drums)
Peter Dines (keyboards)
Lyn Dobson (flute)
Gary Thain (bass)
Mick Weaver (keyboards, harpsichord, percussion)
background vocals:
Madeline Bell – Tracy Miller – Liza Strike
Neil Hubbard (guitar on 01. + 06.)


01. Alice Mercy (To Whom It May Concern) 6.44
02. The Age Of Progress 3.26
03. Nothing In This World 4.14
04. Bright City 3.04
05. Grey Broken Morning 4.25
06. High Tide, High Water 7.52
07. Shadows ‘Cross My Wall 6.02

All songs written by Miller Anderson





Miller Anderson Band – Live At Rockpalast (2011)

FrontCover1Nor may it is now classified in the ranks of the WDR Rockpalast active musicians – Miller Anderson. On 19 March 2010 he played a great concert at the Harmonie in Bonn for the best.  A fine delicacy in terms of blues and rock. Miller Anderson and his many faces. A master on the guitar.

To Miller Anderson to get in the last decades indispensable. With many artists, he was on the biggest stages in this world – he was already active in Woodstock with the Keef Hartley Band, Savoy Brown was the founder of the band, played with the band T-Rex, The Band, Deep Purple Donovan. Most music lovers he is, however, be known as the guitarist of the Spencer Davis Group, and as a sideman for Chris Farlowe and their respective projects. A Multi-Tasker in music.

Not just for fans, this DVD is a concert from the year 2010 in Bonn. Certainly a highlight in the career of the well-traveled Miller Anderson. “Live At Rockpalast 2010 ” – the finest blues and rock material for the ears and the eyes. From first to last chord is a brilliant stage play. (Rainer Molz)


Miller Anderson (guitar, vocals)
Tommy Fischer (drums)
Kris Gray (bass, background vocals)
Frank Tischer (keyboards, background vocals)


01. City Blues (Anderson) 5.42
02. Sinnin’For You (Dines/Finnegan/Hartley/Hewitson) 7.29
03. Boogie Brothers (Anderson) 6.47
04. I Love To Boogie (Bolan) 3.13
05. High Tide And High Water (Anderson) 9.50
06. Fallin’ Back Into The Blue (Anderson) 6.53
07. Just To Cry (Finnigan/Lowther) 6.43
08. Think It Over (King) 4.38
09. Houston (Anderson) 4.35
10. Little Man Dancing (Anderson) 8.02
11. Spoonful (Dixon) 8.07