Bad Company – Live At The BBC Radio (2010)

FrontCover1A very special night when one of the great rock bands of the 1970s reunite together on stage in the UK for the first time in over 30 years. Tonight, the man they called The Voice, his voice is heard on over 90 million records, teams up with his old mates, drummer Simon Kirke and guitarist Mick Ralphs to relive and add something new to the glory days of Bad Company… Please welcome, Paul Rodgers.”

Lesser singers might have a problem living up to the opening intro by BBC’s Johnnie Walker but for Paul Rodgers, it’s probably another stroll in the park. Still Rodgers did not disappoint and, if anything, probably made sure his delivery was flawless. Lifting tracks from Free, The Firm and Bad Company, the special gig for Radio 2 also acted as a curtain raiser for the group’s tour in the UK in April this year and this showcase would have easily helped change the minds of anyone who was debating whether to go or not to go.

Roger Allen blogged at
(The band) proceeded to start with a storming Wishing Well, a super rendition of Ride On Pony was played followed by the classic Free song All Right Now… Mick Ralphs came on the stage for the Bad Co part of the show… Howard (Leese) and Mick swapping guitar solos/rhythm to the songs, Lynn (Sorenson) furiously thumping away on the bass and Simon (Kirke) being absolutely sublime in his drumming, the guy gets better with age. Paul was his usual professional self, having great fun, even walking about in the audience singing and shaking hands (mine included), proving again why he is the best in the business. All through the set, the band were taking cues from each other with nods of the head and hand gestures, was exciting to see a band of musicians working so well that way. Lots of smiling faces from the lucky few (300) who were picked from over 15,000 applicants.

Recorded live at the BBC Radio Theatre, London; March 26, 2010. BBC 2 In Concert – broadcast on October 21, 2010. Very good FM broadcast.

Simon Kirke (drums)
Howard Leese (guitar)
Mick Ralphs (guitar)
Paul Rodgers (vocals)
Lynn Sorenson (bass)

Alternate frontcover

01. Introduction 0.44
02. Wishing Well (Rodgers/Kirke/Yamauchi/Kossoff/Bundrick) 3.48
03. Saving Grace (Rodgers/Schon/Whitehorn) 5.18
04. Satisfaction Guaranteed (Page/Rodgers) 6.23
05. Ride On Pony (Fraser/Rodgers) 4.26
06. All Right Now (Fraser/Rodgers) 5.26
07. Feel Like Making Love (Roadgers/Ralphs) 5.07
08. Run With The Pack (Rodgers) 4.36
09. Shooting Star (Rodgers) 6.31
10. Electric Land (Rodgers) 5.12
11. Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love (Ralphs) 4.39
12. Rock N Roll Fantasy (Rodgers) 4.39
13. Movin’ On (Ralphs) 3.43
14. Bad Company (Rodgers/Kirke) 6.31