Big Will & The Bluesmen feat. Peter Struijk – Hard Times (2011)

FrontCover1Big Will & The Bluesmen was a traditional blues band from the Netherlands inspired by great musicians as Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson and John Lee Hooker.
On this album you’ll find eleven original compositions from Big Will & the Bluesmen. Among those are four acoustic tracks. All songs are based on the Delta / Chicago tradition with true, authentic bluessounds

The band has chosen to give a prominent place on the harmonica (blues harp) and there is also – slide guitar to hear. All this for an authentic blues atmosphere. Close your eyes and imagine yourself in the Mississippi Delta, the “swamp” on a sultry evening, a bottle of Jack Daniels under your belt, life is hard and unforgiving.

They let themselves be inspired by among others: Son House, Robert Johnson, Junior Wells, Muddy Waters and John Lee Hooker.

Will has over 10 years experience playing in blues / rock bands, but would rather be back to basics, the Delta and Chicago blues.

Alex also has extensive stage experience, playing primarily in rock bands. He too has fallen in love with the authentic blues.


Jos the drummer lets you feel the heartbeat of the blues, just goose bumps!

Traditional blues riffs on electric and upright-bass by Henk Wessels, you’ll be hearing a lot from this promising new band.

“Unplugged” The band plays not only on festivals and pubs, they also perform unplugged for receptions, restaurants and backroom shows in a (semi) acoustic setting.


The band Big Will & the Bluesmen ismainly inspired by two currents of blues music: the Delta and Chicago style. Originally starting in the early twenties.


Although slavery is abolished, the black rural population is poor and work on the land. In the evenings they usually spent time in so called juke joints, where they drink the cheap self distilled whiskey and sing simple but powerfull songs about failed love and the misery of their existence. Often the singers were accompanied by guitar and harp.

That’s how the blues was born. -(by

Or: That´s why I love the Blues !

“Guitarist Peter Struijk delivers lowdown blues that look back to a time of rough edges and raw emotions.” (Blues Revue, USA)


Wil van der Ende (harmonica)
Alex “Riverside Jr.” Konijnenburg (guitar, vocals)
Henk Wessels (bass)
Jos Waal (drums)
Henk Heijlema (lapsteel on 09., mandolin on 06.)
Gerbrand Schoenmaker (piano on 08.)
Peter Struijk (guitar on 01., 04. – 07.)


01. Hard Times 6.58
02. Same Old Blues 5.51
03. Waiting On A Train 3.34
04. Leave It All Behind 5.39
05. Seven days -3.25
06. Laura Song 1.26
07. On My Way 3.39
08. Big Will Theme 2.08
09. Drifting And Driving 4.15
10. Sweet Lovin Woman 4.13
11. Release My Soul 4.06

All songs written by Alex “Riverside Jr.” Konijnenburg