Mimi Fox – She’s The Woman (2004)

FrontCover1Named a “rising star” in Down Beat’s 2003 Critics Poll not long after being profiled in the magazine’s feature “66 Hot 6 Stringers,” Mimi Fox takes her best jab at transcending the status of up-and-comer on this tight and swinging, supremely melodic, yet wildly improvisational modern bop date. Lest listeners forget the vibe she’s aiming for, the San Francisco-based guitar goddess starts from the gate with a furious flurry of electricity on the speedy intro tune, “East Coast Attitude.” Jazz fans who prefer finesse and cool over frenetic chops will enjoy the more subtle rhythms and lush melody of the Caribbean-flavored “Sosua,” which was inspired by some impromptu jamming with street musicians in the Dominican Republic. The most appealing aspect of the disc is her eclectic stylistic approach, which ranges from the seductive soul of “Buddy’s Blues” to the graceful contemplation of “Raquel, Mi Amor” and the tender solo exercise “Darn That Dream.” She swings back up for the strutting vibe of “On the Sunny Side of the Street” before closing with a jazz-rock arrangement of the Beatles’ “She’s a Woman,” essentially a bouncy duet between Fox and bassist/clapper Jon Evans. That song inspired the album’s title, but on a deeper level, it’s a declaration that when it comes to great new females in jazz, Fox is clearly at the top of a short list. (by Jonathan Widran)


Tim Bulkley (drums on 01. 03. + 09.)
Jon Evans – bass (on 02., 04. -08 + 10. vocals on 02.)
Ray Drummond (bass on 01., 03. + 09.)
Mimi Fox (guitar, vocals on 02.)
Randy Halberstadt (piano)
Tom Miller (steel drums on 07, percussion on 02., 04. + 07.)
Amanda Newsletter – vocals (on 02.)
Paul Van Wageningen (drums on 02., 04. – 08., 10.)


01. East Coast Attitude (Fox) 2.51
02. Sosua (Fox) 6.49
03. Buddy’s Blues (Fox) 6.34
04. Angel Eyes (Denni/Brent) 8.19
05. Darn That Dream (Van Heusen) 2.14
06. Raquel, Mi Amor (Fox) 6.11
07. Denny’s Tune (Fox) 6.07
08. Lullaby of the Leaves (Petkere) – 6:36
09. On The Sunny Side Of The Street (McHugh/Fields) 4.46
10. She’s A Woman (Lennon/McCartney) 5.30