Warren Greveson – Songs From The Grand Massif (2013)

FrontCover1Warren Greveson is an electronic composer, musician and producer based in Beaumaris, Anglesey. He has written and produced music for the BBC, ITV, Discovery and the Children’s Channel. As a founder member of the eclectic electronic jazz orchestra Zyklus, he appeared at places such as the Royal Festival Hall, Purcell Room and Barbican Centre.

Warreb Greveson in his own words:

” My first serious musical outing was with the electronic jazz orchestra Zyklus, managing to appear in such places as the Royal Festival Hall and the Barbican Centre. Zyklus featured jazz musicians Ian Carr and Neil Ardley and ex-Landscape frontman John L. Walters. Our one album, Virtual Realities, received a great deal of critical acclaim. Our crowning glory was an hour-long session on BBC Radio 3 a couple of years ago. Zyklus did reform briefly, this time incorporating Nick Robinson on guitar. I was working with Neil Ardley until Neil’s tragic death in early 2004, producing a number of electronic works together with the poet Patrick Huddie.

WarrenGreveson2More recently, I have written and performed music for TV (yes I did that music for that car program) and am currently a member of the Performing Right Society.

I finally started work on a solo project, which became two solo projects when I realised that there were two completely different types of music here – one electronic, the other jazz-rock.”

And here´s the jazz-rock procect: “Songs From The Grand Massif” is music inspired by the Grand Massif mountains in the French Alps. This is a brilliant jazz-rock project and the violin of Billy Thompson reminds me a lot of the violin playing of the great Sugar Cane Harris.

And I guess, everyone will know, that Jon Hiseman was the founder of a real great jazz-rock group, called Colosseum !

Warren Greveson (guitar, bass, keyboards)
Jon Hiseman (drums)
Clifford Milner (congas)
Billy Thompson (violin)

01. First Night In A New Country 3.01
02. First Day In A New Country 4.46
03. 1600 5.57
04. Bar Le Savoie 4.58
05. Piste 4.24
06. Lac De Gers 7.27
07. Slalom 4.49
08. Les Dents Blanches 5.56
09. A Walk In The Snow 7.09
10. Lac Aux Dames 7.44

Music written by Warren Greveson