Tord Gustavsen Trio – Changing Places (2003)

FrontCover1This release signals in the then 33-year old, Norwegian pianist Tord Gustavsen’s debut outing for the ECM Records label. His fellow compatriots, bassist Harald Johnsen and drummer Jarle Vespestad, round out this jazz piano trio offering. Fundamentally speaking, the group seemingly works its palate into that classic “ECM Records” aesthetic, comprising echo-laden sonic characteristics and a chamber-esque vibe. Otherwise, Gustavsen demonstrates meticulously construed faculties via a tasteful approach, ringing up notions of the late Bill Evans, amid a conservatory-type demeanor. To that end, the pianist shines forth as a gifted melody maker via a series of deftly executed choruses and sublime themes. The bulk of this production consists of the trio’s probing inclinations and lightly implemented rhythmic structures. Gustavsen’s multifaceted arsenal features an abundance of swirling arpeggios, nimbly rendered harmonics, and gently fabricated block chords. Alternatively, the total listening experience becomes a bit arduous in scope, due to the band’s unwavering gait. Nonetheless, Gustavsen is most certainly one to watch!  (by Glenn Astarita)

Tord Gustavsen (piano)
Harald Johnsen (bass)
Jarle Vespestad (drums)

01. Deep As Love 5.54
02. Graceful Touch 3.50
03. IGN 4.33
04. Melted Matter 5.25
05. At A Glance 4.18
06. Song Of Yearning 8.16
07. Turning Point 5.47
08. Interlude 1.01
09. Where Breathing Starts 8.49
10. Going Places 5.33
11. Your Eyes 5.07
12. Graceful Touch, Variation 4.33
13. Song Of Yearning (Solo) 1.59

All compositions by Tord Gustavsen