Sammy Hagar – All Night Long (1978)

frontcover1All Night Long (Loud & Clear in the UK) is Sammy Hagar’s first live album. The album contains no overdubs. The album was recorded during concerts in San Francisco, San Antonio, San Bernardino, Santa Cruz and Santa Monica.
All Night Long is better than most hard rock live albums not only because Sammy Hagar is at his best when he’s on stage, but because the set list includes only his best songs, eliminating the filler that tends to clutter his albums. (by Stephen Thomas Erlewine)
Sammy is now such a household name that it is nearly impossible to think of him as a guy that used to be in the band Montrose and later struggling with a solo career.  That’s just where he was when this live sucker came out.  Hagar was following up his third solo studio effort when he recorded All Night Long.  The year was 1978 and Sammy was close to breaking out big.
The album contains “I’ve Done Everything for You” which would become a huge hit for Rick Springfield a few years later.  The Montrose classic “Bad Motor Scooter” also is in the set list but there are plenty of other great musical moments.  Check out “Red” which is one of the Red Rocker’s best.  “Young Girl Blues” is another killer song that builds in energy as it continues.  “Rock ‘N’ Roll Weekend” is pure Hagar and “Turn Up the Music” is a true anthem.
This one is a must-own for Sammy’s early hardcore fans but it is also a great place for his younger fans to start when digging back through his past catalogue.
A live concert in every sense of the word, delivered with energy and class, which are two words that sum up what The Red Rocker is all about.
Turn this sucker up! (by
Denny Carmassi (drums)
Bill Church (bass, background vocals)
Alan Fitzgerald (keyboards, background vocals)
Sammy Hagar – lead vocals, guitar
Gary Pihl – guitar, Background vocals)
01. Red (Carter/Hagar) 5.03
02. Rock ‘N’ Roll Weekend (Hagar) 3.41
03. Make It Last/Reckless (Hagar) 6.40
04. Turn Up The Music (Carter/Hagar) 5.45
05. I’ve Done Everything For You (Hagar) 3.29
06. Young Girl Blues (Leitch) 8.58
07. Bad Motor Scooter (Hagar) 7.03