Cedric Hanriot – French Stories (2010)

FrontCover1.jpgLet’s take a closer look at Cédric Hanriot. Known as a great pianist and composer, Cédric Hanriot has played and recorded with some of the giants of jazz, including Dee Dee Bridgewater, Me’shell Ndegeocello, Cindy Blackman and Joe Lovano. In August 2009 Cédric made a stimulatingly spontaneous album with John Patitucci and Terri Lyne Carrington. His extraordinary talent extends to all aspects of his craft. He composes, arranges, produces and programs for projects that are as varied as they are numerous.

Along with his work, he puts his many skills to work on a journey that takes us from Brel to Piaf and Nougaro, as we rediscover some classics in a style that is resolutely contemporary, blending jazz with accents of hip hop, afro beat and electro. His new album “French Stories” was released earlier this year with Bertrand Beruard and Jean-Baptiste Pinet. This album offers a jazz interpretation of some of the most well known titles of chanson française among a selection of his own originals. What’s great about this album is the variety and explorative side of music we can find inside. Along with the trio he invented a slice between contemporary jazz and French’ electro sounds, something that many people praise after listening to this album. (by jazzuality.com)


You must be doing something right to attract the likes of bassist John Patitucci and drummer Terri Lyne-Carrington to your debut recording. Clearly in command of an advanced technique, French pianist and sound designer Cedric Hanriot is attracted to the elements of surprise and spontaneity but both of which are more prominent in his arrangements and cross genre splicing than the actual improvisations or interplay. Piecing together violin and cello string sections with hip-hop beats and RnB backing vocals and placing it squarely in the standard jazz piano trio foundation might just have worked. Is this France’s next Herbie Hancock? (by Peter Wockner)


Terri Lyne Carrinton (drums, vocals)
Cédric Hanriot (keyboards)
Patrick Owen (cello)
John Patitucci (bass)
Ben Powell (violin)
2th (vocals)


01. Louisiana (Hanriot) 5.04
02. La chanson des vieux amants (Brel/Jouannest) 7.03
03. Crunkie (Hanriot) 6.52
04. Your Sweetness (Hanriot/Carrington) 5.19
05. Prélude (Hanriot) 0.51
06. Mambo (Hanriot) 6.40
07. Tribal poem (Hanriot) 6.55
08. Que Marianne était jolie (Delpech/Papadiamandis) 5.33
09. Le jazz et la java (Nougaro/Datin) 7.41
10. Hymne à l’amour (Piaf/Monnot) 9.28