Etta Jones – Lonely And Blue (1962)

FrontCover1Lonely and Blue is an album by jazz vocalist Etta Jones which was recorded in 1962 and released on the Prestige label.

Singer Etta Jones often recalls late-period Billie Holiday and Dinah Washington on her CD reissue of Lonely and Blue. The first 11 songs find her accompanied by tenor-saxophonist Budd Johnson on four of the songs, guitarist Wally Richardson on seven, and the Patti Bown Trio throughout; the final three numbers (bonus tracks), are actually from a date led by tenor great Gene Ammons and are among the highlights of this set. But overall, despite some fine performances (particularly “You Don’t Know My Mind” and “Trav’lin Light”), Jones’ lack of individuality at that point in time makes this CD of less importance than her later sets for Muse. ( by Scott Yanow)

Patti Bown (piano)
George Duvivier (bass)
Etta Jones (vocals)
Budd Johnson (saxophone)
Wally Richardson (guitar)
Ed Shaughnessy (drums)
Gene Ammons (saxophone on 12. – 14.)
Art Davis (bass opn 03., 05., 08. + 11.)
Walter Perkins (drums on 12. – 14.)

01. I’ll Be There (Cook) 2.55
02. In the Dark” (Lil Green) – 2:55
03. Out In The Cold Again (Bloom/Koehler) 3.16
04. I’m Pulling Through (Herzog/Kitchings) 3.37
05. My Gentleman Friend (Horwitt/Lewine) 2.20
06. I Wonder (Gant) 3.20
07. You Don’t Know My Mind (Williams) 3.51
08. Gee, Baby, Ain’t I Good To You (Razaf/Redman) 3.09
09. Good-For-Nothin’ Joe (Bloom/Koehler) 3.50
10. I Miss You So (Henderson/Robin/Scott) 3.26
11. Trav’lin’ Light (Mercer/Mundy/Young) 3.43
12. But Not For Me (G.Gershwin/I.Gershwin) 4.28
13. If You Are But A Dream (Bonx/Fulton/Jaffe) 4.22
14. Cool Cool Daddy (Traditional) 4.50