Kristoffer And The Harbour Heads – Hands (2013)

FrontCover1.jpgAnd here´s a very interesting Indie-Pop band from Sweden:

Kristoffer and the Harbour Heads are back after the 2012 debut Little Goes a Long Way with a chemistry that can only come from spending the better part of a decade touring Europe, Japan and USA.

To keep the vibe of a million mutual miles, the group chose to bring their hearts, beats and sounds straight to tape. They chose to eschew the standard modern techniques of overdubs, clicktrack and the average studio paranoia. The decision resulted in minor mistakes, flaky timing and a couple of blue notes designed to reintroduce the humanity so commonly absent from so many of today’s recordings.

Kristoffer02.jpgThe whole recording took just about a week. But the result has never been more honest, dark or direct.

Hands is a concept album.

That we’re all in this together.
Hands is a note to self about lending a hand to others – and accepting the favours we are given.
Where would any of us be without help?

In a world where even a minor handicap can mean closed doors, Hands is also about building a community where everybody is included. Therefore, the band made certain that ALL venues on tours for this record offer full disability access.

As usual, it’s impossible to pin down the genre, which might be the missing link between The Walkmen, The Hollies, Woods and The Electric Prunes. One can expect all sorts of surprises, from catchy hooks to kraut monotony, three part vocal harmonies and a twisted urban back-beat.

The psychedelic voodoo of German Maracas meets the sticky first single One Two Minutes, the dreamy soundscapes of Salute The Mute and the gloomy childhood depiction of My Mothers House (featuring Ed Harcourt) provide a well-rounded and entirely unique listening experience.


Other guests include: Paul Doucette and the young hometown vocalettes Garellik-Sisters.

All the trio’s members have been part of the music writing, while the lyrics came to Kris during solitary walks through desolate shipyards on Hisingen Island, Göteborg. (Promotion text)


Emil Karlsson-Rinstad (keyboards drums, vocals)
Joel Lundberg (bass, guitar, vocals)
Kristoffer Ragnstam (vocals, drums, guitar)
Paul Doucette – Klas Hendrik Hörngren – Ed Harcourt
Garellik-Sisters (background vocals)


01. Hand And Fingers 4.12
02. Face To The Voice 4.22
03. One, Two Minutes 3.00
04. Good Night 3.20
05. My Mothers House 3.56
06. Forever And A Day 3.54
07. Salute The Mute 2.06
08. You Owe Me Twenty Something 3.56
09. German Maracas 3.28
10. Miss You 4.40

Music: Emil Karlsson-Rinstad – Joel Lundberg – Kristoffer Ragnstam
Lyrics: Kristoffer Ragnstam