Molly Hatchet – Live At Rockpalast 1996 (2013)

FrontCover1Named after a legendary Southern prostitute who allegedly beheaded and mutilated her clients, Jacksonville’s Molly Hatchet meld loud hard rock boogie with guitar jam-oriented Southern rock. Formed in 1975, the group’s original lineup featured three guitarists — Dave Hlubek, Steve Holland, and Duane Roland — plus vocalist Danny Joe Brown, bassist Banner Thomas, and drummer Bruce Crump. They recorded a self-titled debut album in 1978, which quickly went platinum; the follow-up, Flirtin’ With Disaster, was even more successful, selling over two million copies. Brown left the group in 1980 after the constant touring became too tiresome; he was replaced by Jimmy Farrar for Beatin’ the Odds, but Farrar’s voice was less immediately identifiable, and Molly Hatchet’s commercial appeal began a slow decline. The band experimented with horns on Take No Prisoners, but Farrar left for a solo career soon afterwards. Brown rejoined the band in 1982, but the ensuing album, No Guts…No Glory, flopped, and guitarist Hlubek insisted on revamping Molly Hatchet’s sound. After The Deed is Done, a straightforward pop/rock album, the group took some time off in 1985 while its Double Trouble Live album, a collection of some of its best-known songs, was released. Molly Hatchet returned in 1989 without Hlubek for an album of straight, polished AOR, Lightning Strikes Twice. Not even the group’s fan base bought the record, and Molly Hatchet disbanded shortly afterward. They reunited in the mid-’90s as an active touring outfit, releasing Devil’s Canyon, their first record since Lightning Strikes Twice, in 1996. Continuing to recapture the style of their glory days, Silent Reign of Heroes followed in 1998, and Kingdom of XII appeared in early 2001. A slew of live recordings appeared during the next few years, and the band’s studio follow-up, Warriors of the Rainbow Bridge, was released in 2005. Their 13th album, Justice, appeared in 2010.(by Steve Huey)

LiveAtRockpalastLive at the Rockpalast concert, June 23, 1996

Recorded at the Rockpalast Open Air Festival Loreley in Germany, this live album captures an 11-song set from Southern rockers Molly Hatchet during a tribute concert for Irish bluesman Rory Gallagher. The first live performance recorded just after the departure of longtime singer Danny Joe Brown (due to health problems) in 1996, the performance finds a newly inducted Phil McCormack being thrown into the deep end and handling it well, delivering a performance full of swagger and soul as the band brings plenty of boogie and groove to back him up. With the band trying to find its feet after a shakeup like losing a frontman, Live at Rockpalast is an album that longtime fans could certainly find interesting because of its historical significance, though new listeners looking for a live album would probably be better served by Double Trouble Live.(by Gregory Heaney )

Bryan Bassett (guitar)
Mac Crawford (frums)
John Galvin (keyboards)
Bobby Ingram (guitar)
Phil McCormack (vocals)
Andy McKinney (bass)
Leslie Hawkins (background vocals)
Therisa McCoy (background vocals)

01. Bounty Hunter (Brown/Hlubek/Holland) 3.09
02. It’s All Over Now (B.Womack/S.Womack) 4.57
03. Gator Country (Hlubek/Holland/Thomas) 9.59
04. Rolling Thunder (Brown/Bobby Ingram/Butch Ingram/Thomas) 4.37
05. Devil’s Canyon (Brown/Bobby Ingram/Butch Ingram) 6.03
06. Down from the Mountain (Galvin) 4.37
07. Whiskey Man ( Brown/Crump/Hlubek/Holland) 4.44
08. Dreams I’ll Never See (Allman/Tristano) 12.51
09. Fall Of The Peacemakers (Hlubek) 5.16
10. The Journey (Bassett/Galvin/Bobby Ingram/McCormack) 7.00
11. Flirtin’ With Disaster (Brown/Hlubek/Thomas) 6.01


Bootleg-VersionBootleg version