Lennie Niehaus – Plays The Blues (1989)

FrontCover1.jpgLenny Niehaus (born June 1, 1929) is an excellent altoist and jazz arranger in the 1950s (most notably for Stan Kenton), Lennie Niehaus in more recent times won fame for his work scoring the music for Clint Eastwood films. After graduating from college, Niehaus played alto and occasionally wrote for Kenton (1951-1952) before being drafted for the Army (1952-1954). Upon his discharge, Kenton welcomed Niehaus back and he worked for the bandleader on and off for the rest of the decade. Niehaus, who led and played alto on six albums between 1954-1957 (five for Contemporary), had a cool tone a bit reminiscent of Lee Konitz. By the 1960s, his playing had gone by the wayside as Niehaus concentrated on writing for films. Although he largely left jazz at that time, his work on Play Misty for Me, and particularly Bird for Clint Eastwood, allowed one to once again admire his jazz writing. (by Scott Yanow)

And here´s a very rare and very speical album by Lennie Niehaus:

These hip, swinging etudes in the swing/bop style are a great source for blues and bebop licks and fun to play! Lennie wrote these specifically to be played with the tracks from Jamey’s Vol.42 “”Blues In All Keys.”” There is one complete solo (etude) for each of the 12 keys and 12 tracks.


This book of solos is also great jazz sight reading material, since it contains all of the most-used jazz rhythms and syncopation you’ll ever encounter. Perfect for Learning your way around The Blues – even in the tough keys! Students and teachers alike will enjoy playing these musical, lyrical jazz solos with or without the exhilarating accompaniment of the Vol. 42 Play-A-Long. The CD incudes complete performances of each solo by Lennie with a piano, bass, drum rhythm section (from the Volume 42 “”Blues In All Keys”” Play-a-long)so that you can absorb and internalize proper jazz sound and feel. (by abebooks.co.uk)

Unfortunately I don´t have the book … but the CD … and if you like the bluesy sound of a saxophone (like I do) … you´ll find on this album excellent music, recorded by a master of his own !

Lennie Niehaus

Bob Cranshaw (bass)
Lennie Niehaus (saxophone)
Mickey Roker (drums)
James Williams (piano)


01. Tuning notes 0.55
02. B♭ blues : Blues ‘n Bossa 3.52
03. B blues : Blue funk 4.27
04. C blues : By The Book 4.18
05. D♭ blues : Blue blood 3.35
06. D blues : Head Over Heels 4.09
07. E♭ blues : True Blue 3.53
08. E blues : Sixth Sense 4.46
09. F blues : The Time Of Your Life 3.59
10. F♯ blues : Nouveau nova 3.51
11. G blues : Well And Good 4.07
12. A♭ blues : Easy Come, Easy Go 3.55
13. A blues : Slow But Sure 3.28

Music composed by Lennie Niehaus