Paul Butterfield’s Better Days – Live At Winterland Ballroom (1973)

FrontCover1The late Paul Butterfield was a colossal figure in the development of blues music. He is probably most noted for taking orthodox Chicago Blues, and adapting , and electrifying the genre in such a way that he opened up the blues to a much wider audience. His influence on other blues musicians is immense. Read his bio for a small idea of what this great man did in developing the blues during his lifetime. These nine tracks were recorded at the famed Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco, CA. on Feb. 23rd 1973, and should be heard by anybody remotely interested in good music.

BetterDays01Sadly, one of the other musicians on this album, Ronnie Barron, is now departed, but he will forever be remembered for his contribution to the blues. Check out Paul Butterfield’s brilliant “East-West” album. The other musicians on this album are all stars in their own right. Try and listen to to Geoff Muldaur’s “Pottery Pie” album. There is some great basswork from Billy Rich on John McLaughlin’s “Devotion” album. The late Ronnie Barron’s “Bon Ton Roulette” is a great recording. Christopher Parker’s amazing drumming is stunning on Donald Fagen’s classic “Kamakiriad” album, and last but certainly not least, Amos Garrett’s brilliant “Buried Alive in the Blues” album can be found (by Amosgar/Baitb)


Ronnie Barron (keyboards, vocals)
Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica, keyboards)
Amos Garrett (guitar, vocals)
Geoff Muldaur (guitar, vocals, keyboards)
Christopher Parker (drums)
Billy Rich (bass)

01. Countryside (Traditional) 8.10
92. Buried Alive In The Blues (Gravenites) 3.48
03. Small Town Talk (Charles/Danko) 5.21
04. New Walkin Blues (Johnson) 6.18
05. Broke My Baby’s Heart (Barron) 7.18
06. Highway 28 (Hicks) 4.41
07. Please Send Me Someone To Love (Mayfield) 5.21
08. He’s Got All The Whiskey (Charles) 14.11
09. Nobody’s Fault But Mine (Simone) 7.57