Billy Price and the Keystone Rhythm Band – Live (1984)

FrontCover1Blues revivalist Billy Price, born November 10, 1949 in Passaic, NJ, took to singing at a young age and has performed professionally for more than two decades. He’s a superstar in his adopted hometown, Pittsburgh, PA, America’s doo wop capital. Price caught the public’s eye as the vocalist for the Roy Buchanan Band. He’s featured on two acclaimed albums recorded under Buchanan’s name: That’s What I’m Here For, in 1972, and Livestock, in 1974, both on Polygram. Price toured all over the United States and parts of Canada with the highlights being the Newport Jazz Festival, Carnegie Hall, the Roxy, and the Troubadour in Los Angeles, as part of Buchanan’s crew.

After splitting with Buchanan, Price started Billy Price and the Keystone Rhythm Band in 1977. They stayed together 13 years and recorded four critically acclaimed albums including Is It Over, in 1980, and They Found Me Guilty, in 1982, both on Green Dolphin Records; Antenna Records has compiled the two albums on CD. Other Antenna CD’s include Live (1984), Free at Last (1988). Billy named his new group the Billy Price Band in 1990 and increased their repertoire by including riveting interpretations of R&B & soul classics. Road band members are Lenny Smith (guitar), Willie Franklin (bass), H. B. Bennett (drums), John Burgh (keyboards), Ralph Guzzi (trumpet), Eric Defade (tenor sax), and Curtis Johnson (baritone & tenor sax). The Billy Price Band released Danger Zone, in 1993 on Corona Records, and returned to Green Dolphin Records in 1997 to record The Soul Collection, and Can I Change My Mind, in 1999. A diehard, Price will be around til he can’t belt em’ out anymore; arbitrary retirement is not in the cards for the blue eye soul singer who performs one of the most sincere brands of R&B/blues around. (by Andrew Hamilton)

BillPrice2And this album captures Billy Price and the Keystone Rhythm Band live at the Wax Museum in Washington D.C. Featuring the blistering rock/blues guitar of Glenn Pavone, the band smokes through a hot set of blues and soul before an enthusiastic audience. The LP includes the first release ever of a lost Otis Redding song, “Since You’ve Gone Again”; Price’s version of “I Can’t Lose The Blues”, which was later covered by bluesman Son Seals; and Price’s lengthy workout on Tyrone Davis’s Turn Back the Hands of Time.

And believe me it´s: this music is like dynamite !

Don Aliquo (saxophone)
Steve Binsberger (keyboards)
David Ray Dodd (drums)
Jim Emminger (saxophone)
Glenn Pavone (guitar, background vocals)
Bill Price (vocals)
Tom Valentine (bass, background vocals)

01. I’m So Glad (Holland) 4.19
02. Precious, Precious (Crawford/Moore) 4.02
03. Good Time Charlie (Caples/Malone/Scott 4.17
04. Since You’ve Gone Again (Redding) 3.28
05. Eldorado Cafe (Price/Roethel) 3.20
06. I’m Sick Y’all (Cropper/Porter/Redding) 3.07
07. One Man, Two Lovers (Price/Binsberger/Pavone) 3.52
08. I Can’t Lose the Blues (Rock/Darke/Price) 5.06
09. Turn Back The Hands Of Time (Daniel/Moore) 6.03