Yank Rachell´s Tennessee Jug-Busters – Mandolin Blues (1963)

FrontCover1Yank Rachell has long been a legend in the blues world. One of the few blues mandolin players, Rachell recorded several notable sessions during 1929-1941 and then was off record for 22 years. After spending time outside of music, he was rediscovered and in 1963 he performed the music on this album. Rachell (who was in his fifties at the time), is in excellent voice throughout the date although it is his mandolin work that makes this set particularly special. He is reunited with two notable friends from the 1930s (guitarist Sleepy John Estes and Hammie Nixon who is heard on harmonica and jug) and is assisted on some numbers by both Big Joe Williams and the up-and-coming Mike Bloomfield on guitars; several numbers find Rachell backed by three guitars. Yank Rachell would remain active until shortly before his death on Apr. 9, 1997. This comeback set is one of his definitive recordings and is a perfect showcase of the great bluesman’s talents.(by Scott Yanow)

YankRachellPeople have a lot of strange ideas about the blues–Believe it or not, there are quite a few folks out there who actually think that Keb Mo’ is the real deal! Serious fans of this often misunderstood art form probably already know that Yank Rachell is one of the great unsung heroes of the blues. This collection of his work ranks among the very best of hardcore acoustic blues recordings, bar none. Mandolin, guitar, and harmonica wail as if with one voice, and what an intensely satisfying voice it is! Rachell and his small band evoke both the joy and the pain of human experience, often at the very same moment in a single heartfelt tune. The music is somewhat reminiscent of the pre-electrified Muddy Waters, before his country roots began fading under the harsh lights of Chicago sophistication. For blues fans who are chiefly familiar with the Mississippi styles of Robert Johnson and his followers, the Tennessee-rooted sound of Yank Rachell will come as a breath of fresh air. I like this album a lot better than most of what I’ve heard of Rachell’s recordings with Sleepy John Estes. If you care at all about country blues, you can’t go wrong with this one!(by an amzon customer)

AlternateFrontCoversAlternate frontcovers

Guitar – Mike Bloomfield (guitar)
Sleepy John Estes (guitar)
Hammie Nixon (harmonica, jug)
Yank Rachell (mandolin, vocals)
Big Joe Williams (guitarm vocals on 06.)

01. Texas Tony
02. Up And Down The Line
03. Shout Baby Shout
04. Bye Bye Baby
05. Stop Knocking On My Door
06. Move Your Hand
07. Doorbell Blues
08. Lonesome Blues
09. I’m Gonna Get Up In The Morning
10. Get Your Morning Exercise