John David Souther – Black Rose (1976)

FrontCover1Black Rose is the second album by American singer-songwriter J.D. Souther, released in 1976.

In a review of the album for Rolling Stone, Stephen Holden wrote, “John David Souther’s second solo album benefits from a beautiful, all-star Peter Asher production. More sophisticated than either his first album or the two Souther-Hillman-Furay albums, Black Rose underscores Souther’s melodic writing, his strongest point, with some genuinely innovative arrangements by David Campbell, the classically trained musician who scored “Prisoner in Disguise” for Linda Ronstadt. “Silver Blue,” much of which Campbell has scored as a duet for voice and plucked double pass and violas, is a starkly arresting production, while setting “Faithless Love” into a semiformal piece for voice, acoustic guitar and chamber ensemble transforms a prettier-than-average country-rock ballad into an eloquent one. “Doors Swing Open,” a complex tune based on ninth and minor sixth chords, boasts an elegantly lush arrangement that both gives it shape and highlights its lovely chromaticism.”

Read the line-up … what a line-up !

Peter Asher (percussion, piano, background vocals)
Jimmy Bond (bass)
Michael Botts (drums)
Donald Byrd (flugelhorn, horn)
David Campbell (viola)
Stanley Clarke (bass)
Ronald Cooper (cello)
David Crosby (background vocals)
Vincent DeRosa (horn, french horn)
Ned Doheny (guitar, background vocals)
Chuck Domanico (bass)
Robert Dubow (violin)
David Duke (horn, french horn)
Earl Dumler (flute, oboe)
James Dunham (viola)
Kenny Edwards (bass)
Glenn Frey (guitar, piano, background vocals)
Art Garfunkel (background vocals)
Lowell George (guitar, slide guitar)
Andrew Gold (guitar, keyboards, tambourine,background vocals)
Pamela Goldsmith (viola)
John Guerin (drums)
Don Henley (background vocals)
Dennis Karmazyn (cello)
Ray Kelly (cello)
Jim Keltner (drums)
Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar (guitar)
Russ Kunkel (drums)
Kathleen Lenski (violin)
Don Menza (flute)
Roy Poper (flugelhorn)
Linda Ronstadt (background vocals, guitar)
Sheldon Sanov (violin)
Harry Shlutz (cello)
Haim Shtrum (violin)
J.D. Souther (guitar, vocals)
Paul Stallworth (bass)
Charles Veal (violin)
Waddy Wachtel (guitar)
Joe Walsh (guitar, slide guitar)
John Wittenberg (violin)

01. Banging My Head Against the Moon 3.41
02. If You Have Crying Eyes 5.05
03. Your Turn Now 3.48
04. Faithless Love 3.33
05. Baby Come Home 3.47
06. Simple Man, Simple Dream 1.49
07. Silver Blue 4.15
08. Midnight Prowl 5.09
09. Doors Swing Open 4.42
10. Black Rose 3.56

All songs written by J.D. Souther