Lisa Stansfield – Affection (1989)

FrontCover1When Lisa Stansfield took the R&B world by storm with her melancholy, Barry White-influenced single “All Around the World,” it was obvious that not since Teena Marie had a white female singer performed R&B so convincingly. Though she didn’t shy away from hip-hop and house-music elements, Affection leaves no doubt where the British singer’s heart lies — sleek yet gritty ’70s R&B. Though the retro leanings of such updated soul treasures as “You Can’t Deny It” and “What Did I Do to You” are obvious, Stansfield’s producer keeps things very fresh sounding by embracing a decidedly high-tech and very late-’80s/early-’90s production style. Though essentially a soul diva, Stansfield has a disco masterpiece in the love-and-togetherness anthem “This Is the Right Time.” (by Alex Henderson)

Stephen Gibson (trumpet)
Andy Morris (all instruments, programming, trumpet)
Lisa Stansfield (vocals)

01. This Is The Right Time 4.32
02. Mighty Love 5.12
03. Sincerity 4.49
04. The Love In Me 5.02
05. All Around The World 4.30
06. What Did I Do To You? 4.51
07. Live Together 6.11
08. You Can’t Deny It 5.31
09. Poison 4.19
10. When Are You Coming Back? 5.16
11. Affection 5.43
12. Wake Up Baby 3.55
13. The Way You Want It 5.04

All songs written by Andy Morris – Ian  Devaney – Lisa Stansfield