Starz – Live In Canada (1985)

FrontCover1This album captures Starz live in their prime. Four albums into their career, Starz were a big concert draw. They had the logo, the look and their music bridged a gave between the 70’s heavy metal of Aerosmith and Ted Nugent and the lighter rock fare of Foreigner and Cheap Trick. They had Aerosmith producer Jack Douglas behind the knobs and opened for everyone from Ted Nugent to Judas Priest to Peter Frampton. They even had a few minor radio hits (“Fallen Angel” & “Detroit Girls”). Yet despite all this going for them they never quite broke out to the mainstream like many of their contemporaries. Despite this, they left us a legacy of four great rock albums. This live album takes some of those songs and gives them a boost by capturing their live energy. Because they were one of those bands that toured endlessly, they were especially tight on the stage, which this album is a testament to.

Peter Scance & Richie Ranno

“Live In Canada” contains a Live recording of a STARZ concert the band gave in Toronto, Canada back in 1978. Only released as ‘Live in Canada’ on LP by Heavy Metal Records in 1985, never on CD. The band has released many Live discs, but I think this one is their best, also the sound is pretty good and this must have been a great concert including the best songs of the band. Great to hear the best STARZ song ever, “Last night I wrote a letter”, in a live version. This is really fantastic 70s Melodic Rock. Also great to hear are those classic 70s rockers such as “Outfit”, “Subway terror” and “Waitin’ on you”. The whole LP is full of that typical 70s Rock’n’Roll. So, if you want to hear that good-old-time rock’n’roll from the 70s, I can really recommend this great live LP of one of the best rockbands from the 70s. (by

Joe Dubé (drums)
Brenden Harkin (guitar)
Richie Ranno (guitar)
Michael Lee Smith (vocals)
Peter Scance (bass)


01. Rock Six Times (Smith/Ranno/Harkin/Sweval/Dubé) 4.12
02. Subway Terror (Smith/Ranno/Harkin/Sweval/Dubé) 3.58
03. Where Will It End (Ranno/Smith(Dubé) 4.31
04. Night Crawler (Ranno/Smith) 4.36
05. Outfit (Smith/Ranno/Davis) 5.03
06. Last Night I Wrote A Letter (Ranno/Smith) 5.20
07. No Regrets (Ranno/Smith/Messano/Davis/Dubé) 4.47
08. It’s A Riot (Ranno/Smith) 3.49
09. Waitin’ On You (Smith/Ranno/Harkin/Sweval/Dubé) + Coliseum Rock (Ranno) 8.17
10. Take Me (Ranno/Smith) 4.37