Various Artists – A Blues Christmas (2015)

FrontCover1And now it´s Blues-Chrismas-Time:

A Blues Christmas is a vinyl release featuring the best of Alligator’s two holiday CDs: 1992’s The Alligator Records Christmas Collection and 2003’s Genuine Houserockin’ Christmas.

Neither title was ever released on vinyl, so this the first LP to ever be graced with the genuine holiday-rockin’ music of Koko Taylor, Charlie Musselwhite, Shemekia Copeland, Elvin Bishop, Marcia Ball, Michael “Iron Man” Burks and many more. All tracks have been remastered to sound even better than the original releases.

Sometimes Christmas is a wonderful “Joy” and other times it can be awfully lonely. This Blues compilation always made me feel better. They also served as an introduction to many Blues artists whom I had never heard before. The songs are sometimes traditional but my own favorites are mostly original compositions from Blues masters such as Charles Brown, BB King, and Etta James; and the Christmas albums by these artists are today, still among my favorites. Whether the music is “silly” or sentimental; it seemed that my wife and I shared more of the holiday spirit by listening to this music. The music, at this time of the year, also reminds me to celebrate our differences and be thankful to be able to share this Joyous holiday with others. I wish a Merry Christmas to those lovers of the Blues whom share my sentiments. (by Richard Ludmerer)


01. Koko Taylor: Merry. Merry Christmas 4.27
02. Ul’ Ed & The Blues Imperials: I’m Your Santa 2.55
03. Shemekia Copeland: Stay A Little Longer. Santa 4.21
04. The Holmes Brothers: Back Door Santa 3.04
05. Katie Webster: Deck The Halls With Boogie Woogie 2.59
06. Charlie Musselwhite: Silent Night 2.41
07. Little Charlie & the Nightcats: Santa Claus 2.58
08. Michael: Christmas Snow 3.59
09. Marcia Ball: Christmas Fais Do Do 3.15
10. Roomful Of Blues: Santa Claus. Do You Ever Get The Blues? 3.22
11. Tinsley Ellis: Santa Claus Wants Some Lovin1 3.23
12. Elvin Bishop: The Little Drummer Boy 2.53




VA – Muddy Waters – All-Star Tribute To A Legend (2011)

FrontCover1A number of Blues artists exerted a huge influence on the development of modern popular music, collectively characterizing the approach to amplified music in the late 1940s and early ’50s.

The single most influential one was undoubtedly Muddy Waters. From 1948 until 1955 he pioneered and guided the way, in style, substance and sound, eloquently defining the aggressive, swaggering, Delta-rooted sound with his declamatory vocals and piercing slide-guitar attack, releasing a great number of groundbreaking and timeless, classic records.

His inspired and fundamental music continues to reverberate as excitingly and forcefully through the music of today as it did 50 years ago. (by

And here´s a real great tribute album:

Recorded on October 11, 1997 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Washington D.C., an impressive All-Star cast of Blues musicians, including Muddy’s own son Bill Morganfield, turned out to pay homage to the Legendary Muddy Waters, the King of Blues. Features special guests, John Hiatt, Peter Wolf, Buddy Guy, Koko Taylor, Charlie Musslewhite, Robert Junior Lockwood, Big Bill Morganfield, Nick Gravenites, Mem Shannon and Phoebe Snow.

What a concert, what a line-up !


Barry Goldberg (keyboards)
Tom Cosgrove (guitar)
Steve Holley (drums)
Johnnie Johnson (piano)
Bob Margolin (guitar)
Charlie Musselwhite (harmonica, vocals on 04.)
Paul Ossola (bass)
G.E.Smith (guitar)
Robert Gravenites (vocals on 06.)
Buddy Guy (guitar, vocals on 03.)
John Hiatt (guitar, vocals on 08.)
Keb’ Mo’ (vocals, guitar on 09.)
Big Bill Morganfield (vocals, bass on 12.13.)
Robert Junior Lockwood (vocals on 11.)
Mem Shannon (guitar, vocals on 07.)
Phoebe Snow (vocals on 10.
Koko Taylor (vocals on 01. + 02.)
Peter Wolf (vocals on 05.)


01. Koko Taylor: I’m Ready 3.57
02. Koko Taylor: Long Distance Call 3.00
03. Buddy Guy: She’s 19 Years Old 7.49
04. Charlie Musslewhite: I Got A Rich Man’s Woman 4.47
05. Peter Wolf: Rollin’ & Tumblin’ 2.33
06. Robert Gravenites: Forty Days & Forty Nights 3.36
07. Mem Shannon: Gypsy Woman 3.15
08. John Hiatt: The Same Thing 4.44
09. Keb’ Mo‘: I Can’t Be Satisfied 3.44
10. Phoebe Snow: Just To Be With You 4.48
11. Robert Junior Lockwood: Mean Red Spider 4.13
12. Big Bill Morganfield: Hoochie Coochie Man 5.01
13. Big Bill Morganfield: Got My Mojo Working 2.51
14. Muddy Waters: Trouble No More 2.43
15.Hidden track (musicians talk about Muddy Waters)



Muddy Waters

McKinley Morganfield (April 4, 1913 – April 30, 1983)
better known as Muddy Waters