Susan Tedeschi – The Plant (1999)

SusanTedeschiThePlantFCGuitarist, singer, and songwriter Susan Tedeschi is part of the new generation of blues musicians looking for ways to keep the form exciting, vital, and evolving. Tedeschi’s live shows are by no means straight-ahead urban blues. Instead, she freely mixes classic R&B, blues ,and her own gospel and blues-flavored originals into her sets. She’s a young, sassy blues belter with musical sensibilities that belie her years.

Tedeschi began singing when she was four and already active in local choir and theater in Norwell, a southern suburb of Boston. At 13, she began singing with local bands and continued her music studies at Berklee, honing her guitar skills and also joining the Reverence Gospel Ensemble. She started the first incarnation of her blues band upon graduating in 1991.

The Susan Tedeschi Band’s second album, Just Won’t Burn, was released on the Boston-based Tone-Cool Records in early 1998.

This wonderful radio-show was made to promote this album; it´s a beautiful possbility to discover this lady of the Blues.

Norm DeMoura (bass)
Tim Gearan (slide-guitar)
Tom Hambridge (drums, background vocals)
Susan Tedeschi (guitar, vocals)
Tom West (keyboards)

01.  Introduction 0.44
02.  Rock Me Right (Hambridge) 4.56
03.  You Need To Be With Me (Tedeschi) 4.44
04.  Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean (Lance/Singleton/Wallace) 7.50
05.  Friar’s Point (Hambridge/Tedeschi) 5.15
06.  Little By Little (Wells) 6.43
07.  Just Won’t Burn (Tedeschi) 7.43
08.  Angel From Montgomery (Prine) 5.25
09.  It Hurts So Bad (Hambridge) 5.54
10.  Outro 0.59


The Susan Tedeschi Band – Better Days (1995)

SusanTedeschiBetterDaysFCOriginally released in 1995, Better Days was re-released after the success of Just Won’t Burn created a legion of blues fans wanting more of Susan Tedeschi.

This record finds Tedeschi’s guitar prowess and eminent vocals proliferating the musical landscape in the same manner of blues legends who have gone before her. The tracks “It Hurts Me Too” and “Ain’t Nobody’s Business” are classic slow, bluesy songs complete with emotional vocal wailings that are sure to bring the house down when performed in a live arena.

She picks up the pace with “Locomotive” and “I Don’t Want Nobody,” showing off her six-string skills. While there is no question that Tedeschi is a true talent and a blues force to be reckoned with, the musical arrangements could be improved by using a less-formulaic blues structure and attempting to offer something more contemporary.

She has proven herself worthy of sharing the stage with the masters; her next challenge should be to break away and create her own sound.

Mike Aiello (drums)
Adrienne Hayes (guitar, slide-guitar)
Jim Lamond (bass)
Annie Raines (harmonica)
Susan Tedeschi (guitar, vocals)

01. It´s Up To You (Lamond/Tedeschi) 4.19
02. Gonna Write Him A Letter (Tedeschi) 3.05
03. Love Never Treats Me Right (Tedeschi) 2.11
04. It Hurts Me Too (James/Robinson) 5.04
05. Locomotive (Tedeschi) 4.28
06. You´re On My Hair (Tedeschi) 4.12
07. Better Days (Hayes) 6.40
08. Hound Dog (Leiber/Stoller) 4.03
09. I Don´t Want Nobody (Robey) 2.58
10. Ain´t Nobody Business (Grainger/Robbins) 7.33