The Byrds – Brooklyn (1970)

FrontCover1I noticed some Clarence White-era Byrds earlier and it reminded me of that huge stash of sb’s that came out several years back. To my knowledge, the bulk of these recordings were source by someone close to the group, possible in their employ. I can’t say that for certain though. There were quite a number of shows, just about all from the Clarence period which is just fine with me.

I had the pleasure of seeing them at that time in NYC’s Central Park with Van The Man as support. An amazing concert needless to say! Anyway, it seems not all of the leaked sb’s got around back then so I thought I’d offer one up.

This show took place at the short lived 46th St. Rock Palace in Brooklyn, NYy in the fall of 1970. It was later reopened as Banana Fish Garden which, aside from having concerts, hosted some used for the Don Kirshner’s Rock Concert TV Show. Anyway, I think this will be of much interest as it does not appear to circulate and is supposed to have been sourced from the masters right to cdr so it doesn’t get much better. (by davmar)

Recorded live at the 46th Street Rock Palace, Brooklyn, NY; October 23, 1970.
Very good soundboard.


Skip Battin (bass, vocals)
Roger McGuinn (guitar, vocals)
Gene Parsons (drums, vocals)
Clarence White (guitar, vocals)

01. Lover Of The Bayou (McGuinn/Levy) 2.55
02. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere (Dylan) 3.05
03. I Trust (McGuinn) 4.22
04. My Back Pages (Dylan) 2.30
05. Baby What You Want Me To Do (Reed) 4.42
06. Truck Stop Girl (George/Payne) 4.19
07. Black Mountain Rag (Berline) 2.19
08. Mr Tambourine Man (Dylan) 3.03
09. Take A Whiff On Me (Traditional) 3.15
10. Ballad Of Easy Rider (McGuinn/Dylan) 2.07
11. Jesus Is Just Alright (Reynolds) 3.07
12. Eight Miles High (Clark/McGuinn/Crosby) 14.03
13. Hold It () 2.05



Thanks to davmar for sharing this previously uncirculated soundboard on Dime.

SkipBattinThis entry is dedicated to Skip Battin
(February 18, 1934 – July 6, 2003)

Skip Battin died on the evening of July 6, 2003
of complications from Alzheimer’s disease


The Byrds – In The Studio (1965 – 1966)

FrontCover1This release on Capricorn Recordings appears to be a copy of Journals, Vol 9, a sort of Best Of from the ‘Journals’ mammoth 8-CD project.

Comprising alternate versions, false starts, and backing tracks of songs from The Byrds’ first three LPs, you’re not going to turn to this for casual listening. But as academic documents of major groups go, this is first-rate, with 70 minutes of music, sparkling sound, and a chance to hear the group polishing their material in the studio. No radically different takes or arrangements surface, but aficionados will be especially interested in the appearance of the backing track to “Stranger In A Strange Land,” a long-rumored Byrds original that had never even appeared on bootleg before. –

Thanks to DrBanan for sharing the tracks on the net.

Excellent quality studio recordings (mostly backing tracks) from between January 1965 and May 1966

Gene Clark (tambourine, guitar, harmonica, vocals)
Michael Clarke (drums)
David Crosby (guitar, vocals)
Chris Hillman (bass, guitar, mandolin, vocals)
Roger McGuinn (guitar, banjo, vocals)

01. Mr Tambourine Man [1, 2, 19, 20] (Dylan) 7.20
02. I Knew I’d Want You [1] (Clark) 2.12
03. It’s No Use [5, 6] (Clark/McGuinn) 3.28
04. The Bells Of Rhymney [1, 2] (Seeger/Davies) 4.35
05. I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better [1, 2] (Clark) 4.40
06. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue [2-4] (Dylan) 6.46
07. The World Turns All Around Her [14, 15] (Clark) 2.50
08. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue [7] (Dylan) 0.45
09. It Won’t Be Wrong [5-8] (McGuinn/Gerst) 5.30
10. Satisfied Mind [17, 18] (Hayes/Rhodes) 3.14
11. Set You Free This Time [1-4, 18] (Clark) 4.19
12. Stranger In A Strange Land [1, 2, 9, 10] (Crosby) 8.20
13. Wait And See [23-26] (McGuinn/Crosby) 6.01
14. 5D (Fifth Dimension) [18-26] (McGuinn) 10.39

Note: Take numbers in brackets.

The Byrds live in Louisville, KY 1965

The Byrds live in Louisville, KY 1965


The Byrds – Same (Reunion Album) (1973)

FrontCover1In 1972, Roger McGuinn’s final version of the Byrds unceremoniously broke up, but the following year the group briefly reunited — surprisingly enough, with the classic original lineup of McGuinn, Gene Clark, Michael Clarke, David Crosby, and Chris Hillman. However, if most of the participants meant for this to be anything more than a one-shot get-together, you couldn’t tell from listening to the resulting album; Byrds never sounds much like a Byrds album, absent McGuinn’s chiming 12-string guitar and the group’s striking harmonies (the Byrds’ twin aural calling cards). Much of the original material, especially David Crosby’s, sounds like cast-offs from their other projects. And what sort of a Byrds album features two Neil Young covers and not a single Bob Dylan tune? In all fairness, Byrds has its moments: Gene Clark’s “Full Circle” and “Changing Heart” are great songs from the group’s least-appreciated member, and McGuinn’s “Born to Rock ‘n’ Roll” is a top-notch rock anthem. But for the most part, Byrds sounds like a competent but unexciting country-rock band going through their paces, rather than the work of one of the best and most innovative American bands of the 1960s. (by Mark Deming)

Gene Clark (guitar, harmonica, tambourine, vocals)
Michael Clarke (drums, congas, percussion)
David Crosby (guitar, vocals)
Chris Hillman (bass, guitar, mandolin, vocals)
Roger McGuinn (guitar, banjo, synthesizer, vocals)
Johnny Barbata (drums on 07.)
Wilton Felder (electric bass on 07.)
Dallas Taylor (congas, tambourine)


01. Full Circle (G. Clark) 2.43
02. Sweet Mary (McGuinn/Levy) 2.55
03. Changing Heart (G. Clark) 2.42
04. For Free (Mitchell) 3.50
05. Born To Rock ‘n’ Roll (McGuinn) 3.12
06. Things Will Be Better (Hillman/Taylor) 2.13
07. Cowgirl In The Sand (Young) 3.24
08. Long Live The King (Crosby) 2.17
09. Borrowing Time (Hillman/Lala) 2.00
10. Laughing (Crosby) 5.38
11. (See the Sky) About To Rain (Young) 3.49