The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble – Same (2006)

FrontCover1The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble’s form of mutant jazz, slithers and slides…delicately painful. Each song, a little story of heartache, hope and perseverance, seemlessly fusing analogue and digital.
Soundtracks to non-existing movies, inspired by the worlds of The Quay Brothers, Hieronymus Bosch, Picasso, Goya, Murnau and Lang.

Jason Kohnen (aka Bong-Ra) and Gideon Kiers started TKDE around the turn of the century, creating new soundtracks to existing silent movies such as Murnau’s Nosferatu and Lang’s Metropolis. Both graduates of the School of Arts and majoring in audiovisuals and multimedia, the audio/visual concept developed into creating ‘visual’ music supported by existing film fragments to intensify the audio.
The Quay Brothers became a big inspiration for their debut album. Their surreal world combined many weird and wonderful aspects to strengthen TKDE’s sound.
Hilary Jeffrey on trombone joined in 2004, having performed with artists such as Nick Bullen and Patrick Pulsinger, also mastering trombone improvisation. Nina Hitz on cello and Ed Loman on guitar and Lica on vocal improvs form the TKDE live quintet or sextet, with Kiers providing drums, sequencing and visuals and Kohnen the bass, synths and sequencing. (by planet mu)


The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble (TKDE) formed in 2000 as a project to compose new music for existing silent movies. Jason Köhnen (aka Bong-Ra) and Gideon Kiers, both graduates of the Utrecht School of Arts, combined their audio and visual skills to reinterpret classic movies by F.W. Murnau (Nosferatu) and F. Langs (Metropolis). (by

Recorded and composed between 2000 and 2002.
(Re)mixed and mastered in 2005.

Nina Hitz (cello)
Hilary Jeffries (trombone)
Gideon Kiers (programming)
Jason Kohnen (bass, guitar, programming)

BookletA Tracklist:
01. The Nothing Changes 4.54
02. Pearls For Swine 5.50
03. Adaptation Of The Koto Song by Dave Brubeck 3.58
04. Lobby 6.56
05. Parallel Corners 3.34
06. Rivers Of Congo 5.28
07. Solomon’s Curse 3.20
08. Amygdhala 3.58
09. Guernican Perspectives 4.48
10. Vegas 6.09
11. March Of The Swine 19.59

composed by Gideon Kiers  & Jason Kohnen