Walter Trout – Prisoner Of A Dream (1990)

WalterTroutPrisonerFCAfter two decades as a side man for the likes of John Mayall and John Lee Hooker, Walter Trout finally signed a recording contract of his own. His early albums, including this one, were distributed only in Europe and not in his native America. Trout has said in interviews that he feels that he could have done a better job on them but I cannot agree with him. This album approaches perfection as an exposition of magnificent electric blues.
The CD, contains eleven tracks, including one bonus track, of the most powerful blues rock that I have ever heard. The opening track, “Prisoner of a Dream” is one of my favourite electric blues/rock songs of all time. It combines great guitar solos and a strong bass line all topped with terrific vocals and lyrics. This song really has everything that you could ask for in this type of music.
The CD continues with a mixture of styles of from the light-hearted “Victor the Cajun” to slower laments and a traditional twelve bar format in the song “False Alarm” which packs the punch of a moon rocket.
Just when you think that the CD cannot get any better you get to track eight and along comes “Say Goodbye to the Blues” which eclipses not just what came before on this CD but also almost everything else that I have ever heard.

If you like guitar music by the likes of Eric Clapton then you will love this CD it is on my list of essential rock music and it is a great introduction to the work of Walter Trout. (by John Petr O´Connor)


Daniel Abrams (keyboards)
Klas Anderhell (drums)
Jimmy Trapp (bass)
Walter Trout (guitar, vocals)
Jacob Anderson (percussion)
Big Ed Bar (background vocals)
Lise Dandernell (background vocals)
Michael Elo (background vocals)
Ole Hansen (trumpet)
Kjeld Ipsen (trombone)
Jens Haack Olesen (saxophone)
Bob Ricketts (saxophone) 

01. Prisoner Of A Dream (Trout) 5.44
02. The Love That We Once Knew (Trout) 5.04
03. Sweet As A Flower (Trout/Trapp) 4.19
04. Love In Vain (Johnson) 5.57
05. Victor The Cajun (Trout/Trapp/Abrams) 4.20
06. Girl From The North Country (Dylan) 4.57
07. False Alarm (Trout) 4.12
08. Say Goodbye To The Blues (Trout/Jahningen) 7.53
09. You’re The One (Trout) 3.38
10. Earrings On The Table (Trout) 1.44
11. Tribute To Muddy Waters (Trout) 6.02