Cliff Richard & The Shadows – Me And My Shadows (1960)

FrontCover1Me and My Shadows is the third album by singer Cliff Richard. Recorded with The Shadows, it was released in October 1960 and reached No. 2 in the UK album chart.

No singles were to be officially released in the UK from the album. A pairing of album tracks “Gee Whiz It’s You” and “I Cannot Find a True Love” was pressed as an export single intended for continental Europe but high demand in the UK meant it charted in March 1961 and eventually reached #4 in the UK singles chart. Although very popular for an import, this single broke what would have been a run of 15 consecutive top 3 singles in the UK, although it helped give Richard a record 16 back to back top 5 hits.

This album is the 2nd of only 5 albums [Cliff, Me & my Shadows, 21 Today, Finders Keepers, Established 1958] recorded by Richard with exclusive backing by the Shadows during the 1960s. All the others the backing duties are shared between The Shadows and the Norrie Paramor Orchestra.

This album was then re-marketed on the EP format into 3 EPs: Me and my Shadows no.1 (mono) Me and my Shadows no.2 (mono) Me and my Shadows no.3 (mono). (by wikipedia)

CliffRichardTheShadows

This is Cliff and the Shadows-The beat combo long before the Beatles. Just listen to “I’m gonna get you”, “I cannot find a true love”, “She’s gone”, “Choppin’n’changin'”, “Gee whiz it’s you”, “Lamp of love”…excellent. The Ian Samwell songs keep the album fresh even now. Some songs are pure early 60’s pop-“Evergreen tree”, “You’re just the one to do it”, “We have it made” and “Working after school” show the sultry ballad style. ‘Gee whiz’ was a No.4 hit and in 1960 every schoolboy wanted to be Cliff, every schoolgirl wanted to be with Cliff. You constantly had to comb that Cliff quiff and those winkle-pickers hurt, but when Cliff went into “Choppin’n’changin'” it all came into place. Elvis who? Never heard of him…this was CLIFF-MANIA. Cliff was King. This album represents those fabulous early years before the movies. Cliff was it! (by a anazon customer) … and I agree !

BackCover

Personnel:
Jet Harris (bass)
Hank B. Marvin (guitar)
Tony Meehan (drums)
Cliff Richard (vocals)
Bruce Welch (guitar)

AlternateFrontCover
Alternate frontcover

Tracklist:
01. I’m Gonna Get You (Harris/Marvin/Samwell) 1.56
02. You and I (Welch/Marvin) 1.58
03. I Cannot Find A True Love” (Samwell) 2.41
04, Evergreen Tree (Schroeder/Gold) 2.44
05. She’s Gone (Marvin/Harris) 2.38
06. Left Out Again (Chester) 3.03
07. You’re Just The One To Do It (Blackwell) 2.25
10. Lamp Of Love (Tepper/Bennett) 1.51
11. Choppin’ ‘n’ Changin’ (ISamwell) 2.31
12. We Have It Made (Sugar/Hall) 2.15
13. Tell Me (Chester/Welch) 2.49
14. Gee Whiz It’s You (Chester/Marvin) 2.03
15. I Love You So (Samwell/Harris/Richard) 3.08
16. I’m Willing To Learn (Wise/Wiseman) 2.01
17. I Don’t Know (Samwell) 2.11
18. Working After School (Abrams/Medley) 2.0

LabelB1*
**

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.