Various Artists – A Blues Christmas (2015)

FrontCover1And now it´s Blues-Chrismas-Time:

A Blues Christmas is a vinyl release featuring the best of Alligator’s two holiday CDs: 1992’s The Alligator Records Christmas Collection and 2003’s Genuine Houserockin’ Christmas.

Neither title was ever released on vinyl, so this the first LP to ever be graced with the genuine holiday-rockin’ music of Koko Taylor, Charlie Musselwhite, Shemekia Copeland, Elvin Bishop, Marcia Ball, Michael “Iron Man” Burks and many more. All tracks have been remastered to sound even better than the original releases.

Sometimes Christmas is a wonderful “Joy” and other times it can be awfully lonely. This Blues compilation always made me feel better. They also served as an introduction to many Blues artists whom I had never heard before. The songs are sometimes traditional but my own favorites are mostly original compositions from Blues masters such as Charles Brown, BB King, and Etta James; and the Christmas albums by these artists are today, still among my favorites. Whether the music is “silly” or sentimental; it seemed that my wife and I shared more of the holiday spirit by listening to this music. The music, at this time of the year, also reminds me to celebrate our differences and be thankful to be able to share this Joyous holiday with others. I wish a Merry Christmas to those lovers of the Blues whom share my sentiments. (by Richard Ludmerer)


01. Koko Taylor: Merry. Merry Christmas 4.27
02. Ul’ Ed & The Blues Imperials: I’m Your Santa 2.55
03. Shemekia Copeland: Stay A Little Longer. Santa 4.21
04. The Holmes Brothers: Back Door Santa 3.04
05. Katie Webster: Deck The Halls With Boogie Woogie 2.59
06. Charlie Musselwhite: Silent Night 2.41
07. Little Charlie & the Nightcats: Santa Claus 2.58
08. Michael: Christmas Snow 3.59
09. Marcia Ball: Christmas Fais Do Do 3.15
10. Roomful Of Blues: Santa Claus. Do You Ever Get The Blues? 3.22
11. Tinsley Ellis: Santa Claus Wants Some Lovin1 3.23
12. Elvin Bishop: The Little Drummer Boy 2.53