Monica Zetterlund with Bill Evans – Waltz For Debby (1964)

OriginalFrontCover1This 1964 date that places Swedish jazz vocalist alongside the Bill Evans Trio (with Chuck Israels on bass and Larry Bunker on drums) is one of those oddities in Evans’ catalog. The match is seemingly perfect. Evans’ lyricism is well suited to a breezy, sophisticated songstress like Monica Zetterlund. There is an iciness on this recording, but it is difficult to decipher if it is in the performance or in the engineering where she seems to be way out in front of the band, when she was really in the middle of all the musicians in the studio. This is a minor complaint, however, as the tune selection and decorum of these sessions are quite lovely.

ZetterlundEvansFrom the opener “Come Rain or Come Shine” through the Swedish ballad “A Beautiful Rose” and the achingly gorgeous delivery of “Once Upon a Summertime,” it’s as if Zetterlund were destined to sing with Evans for a career instead of an album. For his part, Evans is very relaxed, allowing the lyrics to feed his musing on the simple, yet elegant harmonics. The Swedish version of “Waltz for Debbie” is a true delight because Zetterlund’s voice becomes another instrument, soloing over the top of Evans’ stunning selection of comping chords. In all this is an odd but special item, one that is necessary — for at least one listen — by any serious fan of the pianist and composer. (by Thom Jurek)


Larry Bunker (drums)
Chuck Israels (bass)
Bill Evans (piano)
Monica Zetterlund (vocals)

Alternate frontcovers

01. Come Rain Or Come Shine (Arlen/Mercer) 4.41
02. Jag Vet En Dejlig Rosa (Traditional) 2.54
03. Once Upon A Summertime (Barclay/Mercer/Legrand) 3.04
04. So Long Big Time (Langdon/Arlen) 3.52
05. Monicas Vals (Waltz For Debby) (Wolgers/Evans) 2.50
06. Lucky To Be Me (Bernstein/Green/Comden) 3.40
07. Vindarna Sucka (Traditional) 3.05
08. It Could Happen To You (Van Heusen/Burke) 3.02
09. Some Other Time (Bernstein/Green/Comden) 5.37
10. Om Natten (Adolphson/Reuterswärd) 1.46