Tom Scott – Flashpoint (1985)

FrontCover1With the exception of 1992’s Born Again, saxophonist Tom Scott’s output for GRP was consistently disappointing. Although obviously a talented player, Scott’s willingness to play arrangements whose main goal was to gain radio airplay resulted in commercial and quickly dated music. Scott is heard with smaller groups throughout this 1988 effort, which include keyboardist Randy Kerber and guitarist Dean Parks, plus guest appearances by guitarists Eric Gale and Michael Landau; all this looks promising but is actually quite routine. None of the nine funky originals were infectious enough to catch on; Scott sounds fairly anonymous in spots, particularly when he utilizes a WX-7; and it is obvious that the music was made strictly for the money. At best, this is superior background music. (by Scott Yanow)
I can´t agree with this review … listen for example to “Lost In Love” and maybe you´ll know what I mean.

Vinnie Colaiuta (drums)
Michael Fisher (percussion)
Randy Kerber (synthesizer)
Dean Parks (guitar)
Tom Scott (saxophone, electronic wind instruments)
Neil Stubenhaus (bass) (tracks: 1 to 4, 6 to 8)
Vinnie Colaiuta (tom tom on 05.)
Joseph Conlan (synthesizer on 05. + 09.)
Eric Gale (guitar on 04. + 07.)
Michael Landau (guitar on 08.)
Alan Pasqua (piano on 07., synthesizer on 06. + 08.)
Lynne Scott (vocals on 07.)

01. Get A Grip (Scott) 4.27
02. Seat Of Your Pants (Conlan)     4:36
03. Lost In Love (Scott) 5.36
04. Coast To Coast (Scott) 4.42
05. Flashpoint (Conlan) 5.39
06. Night Drifter (Scott) 4.31
07. Cool Sensation (Scott) 5.17
08. Down To The Wire (Scott) 6.42
09. Water Colors (Bonus Track) (Conlan) 5.30