George Winston – Linus & Lucy – The Music Of Vince Guaraldi (1996)

FrontCover1Linus and Lucy: The Music of Vince Guaraldi is the tenth album of pianist George Winston, released in 1996. It features covers of songs composed by jazz pianist Vince Guaraldi, including some written for the Peanuts animations.

Combining the whimsical yet elegant compositions of Vince Guaraldi and the mellow, restrained playing of George Winston, Linus & Lucy: The Music of Vince Guaraldi is a mostly happy marriage of the composer’s and performer’s styles. On much of the album, Winston tends to tone down the breeziness of Guaraldi’s performances, opting for a gentler, reflective approach that sparkles on “Skating” and “Young Man’s Fancy,” but tends to make “The Great Pumpkin Waltz” and “Treat Street” sound a bit washed out. However, sprightly renditions of “The Masked VinceGuaraldiMarvel,” “You’re in Love, Charlie Brown,” “Peppermint Patty,” and “Eight Five Five” more than make up for the occasional lag and spotlight Winston’s virtuoso piano playing. Though it’s not necessarily intended as a best-of Vince Guaraldi collection, Linus & Lucy could certainly be used as one; however, it’s Winston’s distinctive style that makes it one of the best solo piano new age albums of the ’90s. (by Heather Phares)

George Winston (piano)

01. Cast Your Fate To The Wind 6.23
02. Skating 3.02
03. Linus And Lucy 3.15
04. The Great Pumpkin Waltz 3.56
05. Monterey 4.33
06. A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving 2.29
07. Treat Street 4.51
08. Eight Five Five 1.22
09. The Masked Marvel 5.36
10. Charlie Brown And His All-Stars 1.54
11. You’re in Love, Charlie Brown 2.47
12. Peppermint Patty 3.40
13. Bon Voyage 1.46
14. Young Man’s Fancy     3.52
15. Remembrance 2.20
16. Theme To Grace/Lament 5.02
17. The Red Baron 2.30

Music written by Vince Guaraldi