Angel – Sinful (1979)

LPFrontCover1.JPGSinful is the fifth and most pop-oriented album by the rock band Angel. It was originally titled Bad Publicity and a few copies of the album with that name and a different album cover were sold before being replaced. The album went to #159 on the Pop Album Charts in the USA in 1979. (by wikipedia)

When I was a kid, my brother had this album on 8-track and I was fascinated with it. Not only b/c the 8-track casing was red and looked cool, but the main thing that struck me was how freakin’ killer the band themselves looked. I knew that when I grew up I wanted to be in a band and look just like Greg Giuffria or Punky Meadows; or even Paul or Ace from Angel’s sister band, KISS. And seeing them perform in the Jodie Foster/Cherie Currie movie, “Foxes”, made them even more fascinating. This was/is bubblegum glam/pop metal in it’s finest form. These guys drew the map for the Sunset Strip scene that came a little later on and included bands like Ratt, Dokken and Stryper. But Angel was far better than many of the bands they inspired. Just listen to the opening track, “Don’t Take Your Love”. You got fat, analogue slap-synth keyboards over catchy, upbeat and simple guitar and bass melodies, with vocals that are strong and befitting of metal and yet somehow innocent or something (pouty?). The way the bass kicks in after the initial beginning flourishes, you know you’re in for a treat. That opening track sets up and paves the way for what is, in my opinion, a perfect glam record, and THE prototype for what people now refer to as hair metal. I have all six of the Angel albums, in one format or other, but Sinful to me is their pinnacle. (Swedish Glamster)

Angel01.jpg

At the time of its 1979 release, Angel were floundering madly. They’d just come off their best selling and charting album, “White Hot,” and still could not break through to the success of their similarly themed or sounding acts. They still had one of the most talked about stage shows in the world (and still garnered those comparisons of being the “anti-kiss”). What they did not have was the breakthrough anthem or the hit single, and “Sinful” was meant to change that. Angel left behind the prog-rock of “Angel” and “Helluva Band” two albums back, and now had become a first rate glam-pop group.

Angel02A.jpg

Eddie Leonetti, who also produced “White Hot,” came back to the boards for this album. “Sinful” is a more guitar focused album than “White Hot” was, but not the arena rock blast that Eddie Kramer gave to “On Earth as It Is in Heaven.” Greg Guifria is more in the background, but still shows his chops (“Don’t Take Your Love”). As a point of fact, “Sinful” is an album that bridges the 70’s rock of Styx’ “The Grand Illusion” to hair glam of the 80’s bands like Poison. Had they hung around for the more androgynous period of Twisted Sister and their ilk, Punky Meadows would have been a guitar god. “Bad Time” and “Wild and Hot” (eventually used in the film “Detroit Rock City”) should have been power-glam classics, but Angel were just too far ahead of the curve. (Tim Brough)

And this album is indeed a pretty good one … But their song “Wild And Hot” is a masterpiece of heavy metal … hard rock … call it what you like … it´s a monster song !

LPInlet02A.JPG

Personnel:
Barry Brandt (drums)
Gregg Giuffria (keyboards)
Punky Meadows (guitar)
Frank DiMino (vocals)
Felix Robinson (bass)

LPBackCover1.JPG

Tracklist:
01. Don’t Take Your Love (DiMino/Giuffria) 3.32
02. L.A. Lady (Meadows) 3.46
03. Just Can’t Take It (DiMino/Meadows) 3.44
04. You Can’t Buy Love (Brandt/DiMino) 3.38
05. Bad Time (DiMino/Giuffria) 3.42
06. Waited A Long Time (Brandt/DiMino) 3.14
07. I’ll Bring The Whole World To Your Door (DiMino/Leonetti/Meadows) 2.54
08. I’ll Never Fall In Love Again (Giuffria) 3.34
09. Wild And Hot (Meadows) 3.00
10. Lovers Live On (Meadows/Robinson) 2.59

LabelB1.JPG

*
**

Up in the morning, ready for school
‘Nother day of that golden rule
Doin’ my homework, all week long
Same old exams, always get ’em wrong
Teacher don’t care, she don’t understand
We’re just crazy, ’bout rock n’ roll bands
When they get it together
There is nothing better
When I feel that beat
I just wanna jump out of my seat
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot
And we’re ready to rock
No one can make us stop
‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot

Mommy and Daddy, think I’m a fool
Stay out nights, late for school
I don’t care what they say
When I hear those guitars play
When they play it together
There is nothing better
When I feel that beat
I just wanna jump out of my seat
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot
And we’re ready to rock
No one can make us stop
‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot

The show is over, now I got to go home
Sit in my room, I’m all alone
I can still hear, my superstars
Gettin’ me high, takin’ me far
When I feel that beat
I just wanna jump out of my seat
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot
And we’re ready to rock
No one can make us stop
‘Cause we’re wild and we’re hot
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

BadPublicity.jpg

taken from thefinalvinyl.com

BadPublicityLabelA+B.jpg

The labels of the “Bad Publicity” edition

Tony Spinner – Saturn Blues (1993)

FrontCover1.jpgTony Spinner in his own words:

I was born a poor black child… No, wait! That was Steve Martin’s character in “The Jerk.” I was born June 9, 1963 in Cape Girardeau, Missouri. I grew up listening to the radio and to records. I was immediately attracted to 50’s rock music at an early age, especially Chuck Berry (he’s still one of my music heros.) Mom and Dad played records by Marty Robbins, Elvis Presley, Little Richard, Chuck Berry, etc. We also watched tv music shows like Sonny and Cher, Tom Jones, Dean Martin, and Johnny Cash. I liked to see people perform music live on tv. This got me interested in playing guitar. Later on I got into heavier music like Jimi Hendrix, Duane Allman, Rory Gallagher, Johnny Winter and Robin Trower. They are still my heroes and important influences today.

Most people recognize me from my work as backing guitar player and singer for other bands and musicians. I toured with Pat Travers, recorded and toured with Paul Gilbert of TonySpinner01Mr. Big and from 1999 to 2009 and continue to write and record with Paul to this day. I also worked as a backing guitar player and background singer for TOTO. You can see me on all of TOTO’s live recordings during that time period and I’ve toured the world many times with the group.

In the shadow of my work as a backing musician, I have continued to work on my solo career. I’ve recorded a total of nine (9) solo albums so far, as well as made guest appearances on many other artist’s CD’s and tribute recordings. The first three of my solo recordings, “Saturn Blues” (1993), “My ’64” (1995) and “Crosstown Sessions” (1996) were released on Mike Varney’s Blues Bureau International label. Due to TOTO’s busy touring schedule, it took some time before I recorded “Chicks & Guitars,” my fourth album that was released in 2005. That album is the only one I’ve done entirely on my own, without any record company involvement. (I really like that one!) “Live in Europe” was recorded and released in 2007 on Grooveyard Records along with “Rollin’ and Tumblin'” which was recorded in 2009. “Down Home Mojo,” also on Grooveyard Records (my favorite so far!) was recorded in 2011 and the I continue to record for Grooveyard Records to this day!

The Tony Spinner Band has been touring throughout Europe since 2004. The current line-up of my European band consists of bass player Michel Mulder and drummer Alex TonySpinner02Steier. These guys are great musicians as well as super nice people. They have the same passion for making good music as I do.

When I play at home in the U.S., I have some local guys that I play with. Brent Long on bass and vocals and Derek Doyle on drums. They’re also great guys and we have big time fun jammin’ in the clubs here in the South. Put on your bullet proof vest and get your tetanus shot and come see us some time! (Sometimes the clubs can get kinda rough, ha ha!)

My goal as a musician is to make good music with lots of improvisation. The tunes I play include rock, blues, funk and groove influenced jams. I never have liked set lists so I don’t use one. You never know what you’ll get but it is always honest, inspired and real “from the heart music.” Kinda like… “Earth Music For Aliens”, yeah, that’s the ticket!!! That’s what it’s all about to me! (taken from his website)

Why is Tony Spinner so unknown among rock guitar audience? The guy is great and his exciting licks bring me memories of Hendrix and Vaughan (actuallym he dedicated this album to the two fret-masters). I’m not kidding, SATURN BLUES is a hell of a rock album. Its production remembers me of hard rock, but you can still listen to the blues in all the songs! It is a power trio kicking, and Spinner plays very well and also sings. About the voice: some people who listened complained it sounded like those pop metal of the ’80s, and they have some reason. But hey, the instrumental in this album is great and I still think Tony’s voice fits well in the rock tradition.
TonySpinner04.jpgI was in a record store better known for its jazz catalogue when I met this album in the “blues session” and asked for a quick listen. Man, when “Atomic Blast” exploded in the headphones, I knew I had discovered something.
“Make it through” is a classic mid-tempo rocker, and the solo is 100% Hendrix. A friend of mine, who is a fine guitarrist himself and has perfect pitch, said it was as if Tony incorporated Jimi’s spirit. I have to agree!
“Fall Down” begins with the sonic abuse of an over-saturated amp, and then moves into gung ho rock with killer chops. Perfect to listen to when you’re driving in the highway, just beware not to exceed speed limits!
“You’re my everything”, “Hello California” and “Angeline” brings us closer to the blues, but with the adrenaline of rock always present.
It is the kind of music that makes you feel good, with lots of energy, it has none of the contrived sorrow and delusion that has been so associated to rock after the grunge breaktrough. Some may find it old-fashioned, but I love it and it is so good to discover an artist that still rocks in a more uplifted way.
“Freedom” is also high-voltage rock’n’roll and “Hey Zombie” a funky mid-tempo, You can listen to classic and thrilling guitar licks all the way, and with a terrific tone!
Summing up, highly recommended and I only wish Spinner could receive more promotion. I found in Amazon he has 2 more albuns and I’m gonna check them too. But one thing is for sure: SATURN BLUES is no-nonsense, terrific rock. (by an amazon customer)

TonySpinner03.jpg

Personnel:
Aynsley Dunbar (drums)
John Onder (bass)
Tony Spinner (guitar, vocals)
+
background vocals on 06.:
Michael Onesko – Mike Varney

BackCover1.jpg

Tracklist:
01. Atomic Blast 4:51
02. She’s My Everything 4:34
03. Freedom 3.52
04. Hey Zombie 4.52
05. Angeline 4.58
06. Make It Throught 5.33
07. Delilah 6.43
08. World Fall Down 5.39
09. Hello California 7.14
10. Drivin’ All Night 4.36

All songs written by Tony Spinner

CD.jpg

*
**